Open Source PS3Eye DirectShow driver component

After many requests from PS3Eye users about the PS3Eye DirectShow component I decided to release it as an open source component. Let me explain. When I wrote the PS3Eye DirectShow component I didn’t even dream that it is going to be used in so many applications. Naturally, it is very hard for me to test and debug this component under various circumstances and in all use cases. Many of you are skilled programmers and so frequently I got requests for the source code. While initially reluctant to release it due to the nature of the code (driver component code versus a normal application code), I truly believe in open source and that by releasing the code as an open source to the community, in time, it will only get better.

I do believe that openly sharing knowledge (source code) will eventually make this world a better place (I did it myself many times). While this is true, the work put in throughout the design and development process has a definite value. In order to satisfy both sides of the issue, I came up with the win-win model that I think is the best suited in this particular case – the communal donation. While giving a freedom to each one of you to donate any amount you think its appropriate, you will ultimately contribute to the code eventually being open source. In this way the source code will become a property of the community as a whole (which by the definition is an open source code).

Based on the research, design, development efforts and time spent on this project I estimate that its total value is $15,000.

Below you’ll find a link to ChipIn widget that will allow you to donate and see the progress in real time. When the bar hits 100% I will release the full source code of the PS3Eye DirectShow component.

NOTE: Since the original chipin event has ended so I created a new one.
http://widget.chipin.com/widget/id/a717a49af8cdfabd

The old one:
http://widget.chipin.com/widget/id/a717a49af8cdfabd

Note: Due to WordPress limitation I was not able to embed ChipIn widget into the post.

~ by Alexander Popovich on July 20, 2009.

19 Responses to “Open Source PS3Eye DirectShow driver component”

  1. Alex, asking for donations from people before you release software is selling the software to the community. Besides being unethical, I don’t even believe this to be legal. Please do the right thing and release your source code to the community as free software under the GPL. If you are looking for a revenue stream, try advertisements. I’m sure you will get many more hits on your site when the new PS3 motion controller comes out.

  2. Alex Popovich does this work for SKYPE????

  3. I just contributed. Thank you for your hard work Alex. We need more code wizards like you working your magic.

  4. Rex wrote: “Alex, asking for donations from people before you release software is selling the software to the community. Besides being unethical,”

    Unethical? Why is it unethical? I’m sure Alex has put a ton of effort into this. He deserves to be compensated. If the value he places on his time is $15,000 then good for him. The only question is what value the community places on his work. From where I stand, Alex’s work on the PS3EYE is worth every penny of that money.

    Rex continued with: “I don’t even believe this to be legal.”

    Apparently, you also believe that being an Internet user qualifies you to offer legal opinions. Can you offer any citations for this “belief” of yours? Why is it illegal for a software developer to say, I will open source this piece of code after I have received the amount of money I believe this code is worth.

    Rex continued on: “Please do the right thing and release your source code to the community as free software under the GPL.”

    On what grounds do you say that releasing it under the GPL is the right thing? Why not BSD? Or Apache?

    On what grounds do you presume to know what is the right thing for Alex to do with his code? On the grounds that it suits you better to use his code gratis?

    Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for open-source software. But this notion that someone making money by either selling software licenses, or setting a target dollar amount to be reached before releasing the software is immoral or unethical is 100% bullshit.

    N

    • Don’t get ME wrong: I appreciate the effort that Alex has put into his driver. I would like the opportunity to extend that effort, like I have given others with software I have written. It’s the terminology more than anything else that makes me question the ethics. It’s not a “donation” if you can’t get the product unless you donate. This is just not in the “spirit” of OSS. I’ve never seen this open source business model before, and it seems shady. Who’s to say that the source will ever get released? Since it is a “donation”, there are no guarantees. I’m not going to buy something that I may never get. If Alex wants to sell me the source code for say $100, he’s got a deal, though I doubt he’d ever make that formal. Which brings me to my next point.

      No IANAL. My original statement was based on the educated guess that Sony will never see a drop of the money being collected. If a commercial entity started selling a Windows driver for any of their products, Sony would go nuts. Reverse engineering is generally considered to be legal for certain purposes, but selling it??? I’d be willing to bet that Sony could shut Alex down easily, and lawfully.

      • You say: “It’s not a “donation” if you can’t get the product unless you donate.”

        But you’re getting the product — whether you donate or not. The driver is available. Alex simply says that he will release the source code to the driver if a certain amount of money is donated. I see nothing “shady” or “unethical.” It’s his code, and if this is the condition he wants to set, then it’s certainly his right to do so.

        “This is just not in the “spirit” of OSS. I’ve never seen this open source business model before, and it seems shady”

        Not too long ago, nobody had seen any kind of open-source business model at all. Your point?

        “Who’s to say that the source will ever get released?”

        Heh… do I even need to bother replying to this nonsense? Alex came out and said that he will release it. Judging him from his contributions alone, I would say that he’s a man of his word. If you don’t agree, don’t contribute. You still get to use the driver.

        “No IANAL. My original statement was based on the educated guess that Sony will never see a drop of the money being collected. If a commercial entity started selling a Windows driver for any of their products, Sony would go nuts. Reverse engineering is generally considered to be legal for certain purposes, but selling it??? I’d be willing to bet that Sony could shut Alex down easily, and lawfully.”

        First of all, why would Sony go nuts? What legitimate interest does Sony have in not letting people access their own _lawfully-acquired_ hardware? Would Sony go nuts if you purchased the camera and put it in a blender to see if it will blend?

        Secondly, on what grounds do you think would Sony come after him?
        I know you’re not a lawyer — that much is clear — but perhaps you should read up on Chamberlain v. Skylink.

  5. do you have a version that works with google talk, let me know, i would be willing to donate?

  6. I agree with Nik B 100%…

    Alex’s programming the PS3 eye is really excellent work on his part. I believe anything that people donate to this is actually well worth it. There is nothing immoral or unethical about raising money for work that you do to help others out… If that was the case go harass the Santa Clause that rings his bell asking for donations during the christmas season and tell him he’s immoral and unethical. Give the man what is deserved.

    Thank you for your hard work buddy. Hope to see what will come next from you.

  7. I’ve just installed the latest version downloaded from this site to test my own ps3eye with an AG application. The test apps works fine but I can not use, anymore, the visual studio 2008 express C++ debugger with my own dshow code. It says a running debugger is detected as soon as I step inside a function; this prevents me from working… does it sound like something you may know ? its not like there is a trojan installed with the driver, right 🙂 ? thanks for any advice

    • This might be the case if you downloaded the older driver since I had an expiration timeout on my earlier versions that were preventing debuggers. The latest version of the driver does not have any such limitations. Please make sure you’re using the latest SP1 update in your compiler. In any case since there are no symbols included with my driver you won’t be able to trace inside the driver code (besides the assembly code).

      ~Alex

  8. Heh 15,000. No way is this driver worth that much, not to mention the crappy support it has (I can’t even get it to run on MSN Messenger!). Yeah PASS, might aswell go buy a webcam for 15 bucks.

  9. Can get the driver for Mac??

  10. Alex thanks a billion and as soon as I get some Emoney I will donate to your cause…

    Why are people being so nasty about the idea… IDK.

    Alex has been working on the project for a while and sharing it with others.people are now questioning his motives, just because his goal is high. It is not for one person to pay! In stead of buying crap online, give Alex something.

    It’s called donations!

    forget about the many ungrateful people out there and thanks again!

  11. you all talking some HEAVY shit. I’ve been looking for awhile now……..where the HELL is this download?? !!

  12. I just wanted to make sure and at the risk of sounding really dumb !!
    The PS3 Eye will only work in a USB 2.0 slot as opposed to the standard USB slot, Is this correct ? As I am plugged into a standard USB slot and when using the test app I just get a black screen.

  13. I think this chip-in stuff is NOT working.
    All of us is probably thinking the same thing! What will happen if say I donate $100 and then after months when it will be expired, it still doesn’t reached the target. Wouldn’t that means I lost my money in void?

    Don’t get me wrong Alex, I do trust you, but I simply couldn’t judge how long will this “transaction” is done deal.

    One thing that I can suggest is that if say you can put a warranty that mentioned if this target (say $10,000) is not achieved by Dec (or whenever), then I’ll return all the money donated. Then, I think you’ll get more responses. Otherwise, for us it become similar to wishing well, drop some coins and wish for the best.

  14. Frankie only finishes his stuff since he has to build it. ,

  15. Firstly, there are a finite number of primes p where the reduction of E to p is bad for one reason or another; we multiply all these primes p together to form the conductor N, which then gets carried along throughout the rest of the construction. ,

  16. Playstation3 eyetoy firmware

Leave a comment