Sony PS3Eye Camera TouchLib, DirectShow and more…

I’m pleased to announce the new release of the PS3Eye driver. The camera code had been completely rewritten from the ground up. The driver now uses Microsoft’s WinUSB driver. I decided to go this route since the old driver had some performance issues. It is strange that Sony have chosen to stream video over USB bulk transfer pipe. Usually, video and audio USB devices use isohronous transfers since they have higher priority. On a slower systems this results in the video frame data drop resulting in shifted (out of sync) image.

Anyways, the good new is that this time around the driver will work with both x86 and x64 version of Windows (XP and Vista). This will hopefully make many of you who were asking for x64 version very happy.

Installation

Please make sure you completely remove any previous versions of PS3Eye drivers and software. 
You can easily check if this is done properly by plugging the camera checking if Windows detects and automatically installs the driver. 
If it doesn’t, the driver has been removed. To install download and run the latest PS3EyeSetup file and follow the instructions. 
If your camera is not automatically detected when you plug it in, point the device manager to the Driver directory under the installation path. The driver will install and your camera is now ready. 
VC++ 2005 SP1 redistributable is also included in the PS3EyeSetup for your convenience.

PS3Eye as DirectShow Capture Device

The PS3Eye.ax is the DirectShow video capture component that is automatically registered by the PS3EyeSetup. It exposes the camera frames in the RGB24 color format for better software compatibility. Here is the list of currently supported resolutions and frame rates:

  • 320×240 @ 15fps 
  • 320×240 @ 30fps 
  • 320×240 @ 60fps 
  • 320×240 @ 75fps 
  • 320×240 @ 100fps 
  • 320×240 @ 125fps 
  • 320×240 @ 150fps (experimental) 
  • 640×480 @ 30fps 
  • 640×480 @ 40fps 
  • 640×480 @ 50fps 
  • 640×480 @ 60fps 
  • 640×480 @ 75fps (experimental)

PS3Eye TouchLib Build

I am very excited to announce the first TouchLib build that now fully supports the PS3Eye camera. All of the above resolutions and frame rates are supported in the current build. 
I implemented a new TouchLib filter called ps3eyecapture that loads the PS3Eye driver directly and allows the use of this device in multitouch applications. The direct to PS3Eye camera through the driver guaranties the minimal capture latency.

To select the desired resolution and frame rate, just uncomment the format parameter line as shown here:

TouchLibFilterGraph.jpg

NOTE: Please make sure you backup the config.xml file before running TouchLib since it will overwrite it on exit and you will lose all of the commented formats.

And of course, the files: PS3EyeSetup (v2.0b81109) and TouchLib (PS3Eye) build .

Enjoy!

If you find the software useful or if you feel like supporting this project, please feel free to click the donation link below.

~ by Alexander Popovich on October 17, 2008.

52 Responses to “Sony PS3Eye Camera TouchLib, DirectShow and more…”

  1. […] *UPDATE* 10-16-2008 New driver allows the camera to run under x86 and x64 Windows systems. New TouchLib filter allows the use of this great camera in multitouch applications!!! Incredible capture frame rates and image quality!!! Read more here… […]

  2. Do you know why this crashes msn it wanst at first then resart and boom!! thanks

  3. The 64 bit driver still doesn’t work. I get the same message if I uninstall the device, plug it in, and let windows try to do it. If I manually try to install the driver by pointing it to the folder you created on C:, I get a new error.

    “Windows found driver software for your device but encountered and error” “The system can not find the file specified.”

    I didn’t see any new instructions on installing it, so I assume I didn’t do anything wrong on my end.

  4. If I plug it in, and not let it search for a driver, there’s “USB Camera B4.blahblah” in device manager. If I try to update the driver when it is called this, it just says that it is up to date. There’s a yellow exclamation mark next to the icon, and under properties it says:

    This device is not configured correctly. (Code 1)
    A service installation section in this INF is invalid.
    To reinstall the drivers for this device, click Reinstall Driver.

    If I do let Windows search on its own it fails with the inf error and then the camera is moved to other devices and renamed unknown device.

  5. Great work — thanks for the awesome effort! The higher speed frame rates are just what I need. Is your filter fast enough to support 2x PS3eye cameras (multi-threaded), or is the bus just going to be overloaded?

  6. I installed the new x64 version and pointed the driver install to the “…\alexp\driver\” install, to which my computer responded with, “Windows found driver software for your device but encountered an error while attempting to install it.
    PS3 Eye Camera
    The system cannot find the file specified.”

  7. whenever i try to download “PS3Eye TouchLib build” my computer doesn’t know what application to open it with

  8. I have to admit, this is very impressive. Thank you Alex, I have been a fan of yours since your work had landed on the forum. Keep up the great work man!!! Much respect!!!

  9. The 64bit driver still doesn’t work. Thanks for the effort, most people forget about us poor x64 users. Pointing device manager to the driver just gets:

    Found driver but encountered a error when installing.
    PS3Eye Camera (x64)
    Can not find the file specified.

    I’m tried removing the drivers, installing it, and everything I can to get it to run. It might just be my problem, let me know if I screwed up.

  10. unfortunatly i am running into this issue as well “Windows found driver software for your device but encountered an error while attempting to install it.
    , i am running on vista 64 on a quad core intel 64. When i go into the device manager it gives the following error
    The drivers for this device are not installed. (Code 28)

    There is no driver selected for the device information set or element.

    To reinstall the drivers for this device, click Reinstall Driver.

    well thanks and gl

  11. I had an older version of your PS3Eye software wrking on XP x86 bu then after unstalling, to upgrade to the latest (v2.0b81016 at time of writing) When I try to run the Testapp, after installing I am told I am missing WinUSB.dll, why is this not included or have I deleted/uninstalled it, when I uninstalled libusb or something similar?? Please can someone point me in the right direction? Thanks.

  12. Erik, I currently do not have x64 version of Vista/XP installed. I’m working on setting that up and testing on it. I’ll keep you updated. Also get the latest Setup v2.0b81019 and try that one.

  13. D, I’m working on solving the issue with 64bit Vista. Please uninstall the PS3EyeSetup (v2.0b81016) and try the new PS3EyeSetup (v2.0b81019). Let me know if this will work for you.

  14. karl, get the latest Setup v2.0b81019 and try that one. You must uninstall any previous version you had. I will add this functionality to the installer next time. To check if you fully uninstalled the files, if you plug in the camera and it doesn’t detect it automatically then the software is removed correctly. Unplug the camera and download and run the latest Setup file. The Setup will install the WinUSB dll file for you.

  15. The one I was trying was version 19. So far it’s always the same error with any version. If there’s a way for me to give you more details on the problem let me know, I don’t have a problem using my computer as a guinea pig.

    Do you have any plans on making a driver for the PS3 controller? There’s a 32 bit one out but it’s pretty poor. All it does is cause Vista to stop booting for us unfortunate x64 users.

  16. Alex,

    Thank you for spending time on this awesome toy. I’ve got the video working wonderfully but the mic doesn’t work. What can I do to get it working properly. I’m running Win XP 32.

  17. thanks Alex for such efforts put into this man, i unfortunately am having a problem with getting my PS Eye to work properly. i am running Windows XP home service pack 3. i installed your latest update and then plugged in the camera, directed the device manager to your drivers, thus getting the camera to work when i use the PS3 eye test software. Yet, when i go back into my device manager, there is still an “Other Devices” section with ‘USB CAMERA’ listed underneath it. And when I go to use the AmCap, I always get this error message when i attempt to start and then stop capturing saying, “This graph cannot preview properly!” If you can Alex, or if anyone else can point me in the right direction, that would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

  18. I installed the app (v2.0b81016), Windows dettects the cammera, PS3 Eye Test APP works, but nothing with AmCap and Messenger.

    Anything with PS3Eye TouchLib build ? how installed it?.

    Thanks

  19. Awesome work. I have it running with the test no problem. Skype however cant seem to discover it…any suggestions?

  20. I too have a problem with Skype. Older versions of your driver worked with it but the (v2.0b81029) version the PS3 Eye doesn’t show as an option under “select webcam”. This version was installed on a fresh install of XP Pro SP3. However the test app works fine.
    Thank you for all your hard work.

  21. *UPDATE* After uninstalling and reinstalling the cam now shows up and works. I’m a dummy, I should have messed around a little more before posting. Anyway like another poster had mentioned it would be awsome if you could create a better driver/software to use the sixaxis/dualshock 3 on XP/Vista. Mainly a better gui for calibrating/setting up the controller to use as a gamepad for the PC. I would think this project would be a snap for you compared to the PS3 Eye which you basically built from scratch.

  22. Is there any chance of getting the PS3Eye to work with Windows Live Messenger? iv attempted to use it but it said the mic’s are being used by another programme and WLM doesnt recognise it as a webcam.

  23. […] questa guida, derivante dalla versione originale, potrete trovare i passi necessari all’installazione ed il driver per far funzionare la webcam […]

  24. Jack, I am aware of the microphone problems with WLM on some systems. Currently I have no control over the microphone, since it is automatically detected and installed by Windows. If you are experiencing problems, one thing you might want to do is to remove PS3Eye microphone from being a default Windows audio input device and use some other microphone while you use WLM.

  25. Does the new PS3 drivers work with Microsoft Office Communicator 2005?

  26. After being forced to update, I’ve run into problems. The camera worked fine for streaming flash such as mebeam, however, after updating the drive, I.E. crashes immedaitely. Firefox loads, but shows a blue screen, and does not detect video. The test app claims the camera is working, however amcap fails giving me
    “error 80004002: Cannot find Vcapture:IAMStreamConfig”
    “This graph cannot Preview”
    and
    “this graph cannot preview properly”

    ’tis a shame since it was working fine before i updated the driver.

  27. ignore that, i’m retarded

  28. Skype doesn’t detect the PS3Eye on WinXP. The test application works fine. The device manager shows the camera as “AlexP Devices->PS3Eye Camera (x32)”. I’m using version 2.0B81111 of the driver. What am I missing?

  29. When I installed this, Zone Alarm detected a trojan named trojan-dropper.win32.vb.gte

    Becase of that, I cannot launch the test program, as it references not being able to find the file PS3eyelib.dll (because it was quanantined).

    I appreciate the work you have done on this by the way, and am not trying to put it down in any way – just trying to understand why this would happen.

  30. I am not getting a device under the Sound, Video and game controllers branch on my device manager. The device is showing up under AlexP devices. Unfortunately I already have an app designed to work with dshow cameras, so the fact that this part isn’t working is a big problem for me.

  31. Durr, posted on the wrong thread.

  32. There is a Trojan on your driver… could you make one without virus please…Avira antivir …
    Thanks

  33. I cant find the link to download. Im getting really frustrated. can anyone hellp me out?

  34. Ok, I have it downloaded bur I cannot get it to work with msn. when I send it, it just shows up as a white screen to whoever is watching…

  35. Is anyone successfully running this on XP64 yet?

  36. Why is the PS3Eye driver time-bombed? It no longer works and keeps putting up a dialog titled, “Unregistered Version” asking me to get an updated version. I’m using the most recent file on your site. What gives?

  37. Sorry Alex, I was grabbing wrong version from the non-central page. For those looking, the most recent version is always here: https://alexpopovich.wordpress.com/2008/10/02/sony-ps3eye-camera-directshow-capture-source-filter/

  38. Where does it save captured video to?

  39. Hi Alex,

    Thank you for your job. I would like to add the PS3Eye to my setup but I have a problem with a simple “capture graph” using graphedit and your directshow capture filter. The graph automatically stop after a few seconds. Do you have any idea to solve this problem?

    Thx

    Thx

  40. Hi Alex – I hope this gets through to you as I could not find a private email to contact you directly. We are currently developping a very (commercially) exciting object tracking application using direct show, but the latency is too high. You seem to be able to write USB drivers for webcams with low latency (1 frame for ps3eye), faster than direct show. Can you give us a pointer where to find alternative, low latency drivers for usb2 cams generally, or maybe a good introductory book about USB, from which we could learn how to write one ourselves – or – would you consider to do some free lancing for us, writing a driver for our camera ?
    regards,
    Stefan

  41. Hi Alex, i think the links to the downloads are broken?

  42. I have downloaded the files and installed them. when i try to run the test app it says “Unable to locate DLL”. I am running windows 2000 if that helps.
    any tips would be appreciated!
    thanks

  43. hey alex I am so grateful that you made so I could use my ps3eye on my pc, but I wonder why the images been frozen sometimes on msn and camfrog i hope you know how i can do to make it not happen?

  44. I installed the app (v2.0b81016), Windows dettects the cammera, PS3 Eye Test APP works, but nothing with AmCap and Messenger.

    Anything with PS3Eye TouchLib build ? how installed it?.

    Thanks

  45. i’m sure this has happened to a few peeps already, so sorry to sound like a broken record, but how do get a WINUSB.dll file installed or found or whatever w/out having to buy a flippin REG CURE
    etc… thanx for the help!!!

  46. I can’t seem to get the x64 drivers working, it continues to tell me could not locate file, even though I obviously selected the inf file. Any help? Windows 7 RTM 64-bit.

  47. The link to download the driver can not be found…

  48. Is there a virus on it? I downloaded it with firefox, it said nothing; I scanned it with McAfee before installing, it said nothing; I’m doing a full scan of my computer with McAfee and yet to find anything. So is it a virus? I hope not but I’m not 100% sure…

  49. Do you happen to have the .lib file and headers that you used to compile those .dll’s? You can send them to my email if they are available. Thank you so much

    • Reggie, .lib and headers are available in the sdk directory when you install the PS3Eye driver. This is what I used to build PS3 version of touchlib.

      ~Alex

      • Sorry, I was referring to a touchlib.lib file that was built with your touchlib.dll. I am receiving an error when running my application that is currently linked to a touchlib.lib. Thank you again

  50. I was wondering if there was a version for Windows 7, I’m using XP on my desktop but I wanted to try to get this working on my laptop.

    Thanks for your time and dedication to the work, this will come in handy for obvious reasons and I am looking forward to seeing more in the future, Orical…

Leave a comment